A.SK Selection Committee

Every two years, an international committee led by chairperson Dorothea Kübler selects the prize recipients.

Prof. Dr. Dorothea Kübler is the director of the department of Market Behavior at the WZB and a Professor of Economics at the Technical University of Berlin. Her research uses experimental methods and game theory to examine decision-making behavior and market design. In recent years, among other things, her work concentrates on the centralized procedure for awarding places at universities in Germany, looks at the influence of social and moral standards in markets, and also studies educational choices and discrimination in the labor market. Dorothea is a founding member of the “Matching in Practice” network, a member of the senate of the DFG (German Science Foundation), and the deputy chairwoman of the Einstein Foundation, Berlin.

Prof. Dr. h.c. Jutta Allmendinger, Ph.D. is the president of the WZB and a professor of educational sociology and market labor research at the Humboldt Universität zu Berlin. She was previously the director of the Institute for Employment Research (IAB) in Nuremberg (2003–07).

Prof. Sir Richard Blundell is the David Ricardo Professor of Political Economy at University College London and the Director of the ESRC Centre for the Microeconomic Analysis of Public Policy at the Institute for Fiscal Studies. He was the Research Director at the Institute for Fiscal Studies between 1986-2016. He is also a Fellow of the Econometric Society (1991), Fellow of the British Academy (1996), Honorary Member of the American Economic Association (2001), Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2002) and Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries (2003). Blundell was predicted to win the Nobel Prize in 2015 by Reuters along with two other notable economists, Chicago economist John A. List for his work on field experiments and Northwestern economist Charles Manski, for his work on the reflection problem.

Prof. Craig Calhoun has been Professor for Social Sciences at Arizona State University since July 2018. From 2016 to 2018, Prof. Calhoun was the President of the Berggruen Institute in Los Angeles and remains involved with the Institute as a Senior Advisor. From 2012 to 2016, Prof. Calhoun was Director and President of the London School of Economics and Political Science. Before taking up his post at the LSE, he taught at the Universities of North Carolina in Chapel Hill, Columbia, and NYU. Calhoun’s many publications bring together theory and empirical research across several disciplines. He has also published extensively on nationalism and globalization; economic and technological change; critical social theory; the history of social science; and secularism, religion, and the public sphere.

Prof. Jennifer Hochschild is the Henry LaBarre Jayne Professor of Government at Harvard University, Professor of African and African American Studies, Harvard College Professor, and the former Chair of the Department of Government. She holds lectureships in the Harvard Kennedy School and Harvard Graduate School of Education.