Seminar Series: Democracy – Past, Present, and Future

Chairs: Grzegorz Ekiert, Harvard University; Daniel Ziblatt, WZB

Populism after Trump

Thursday, March 4, 2021, 6.30 p.m.

Does the defeat of Donald Trump in the 2020 election signal the end of populism globally? While some populist leaders, such as Viktor Orbán in Hungary and Jair Bolsonaro in Brazil, felt emboldened by Trump's presidency, other populist and right-wing movements, including those in France and Germany, were independent of his leadership and remain largely unaffected by his defeat. This seminar will explore the future of populism in Europe, Latin America, and the United States and assess if their fortunes will wax or wane.

  • Anne Applebaum - Senior Fellow of International Affairs and Agora Fellow in Residence, Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS)
  • Steven Levitsky - Professor of Government, Harvard University
  • Daniel Ziblatt - Eaton Professor of the Science of Government, Harvard University; CES Resident Faculty & Seminar Co-chair, Harvard University; Unit Director, Transformations of Democracy, Berlin Social Science Center (WZB)
  • Grzegorz Ekiert - Laurence A. Tisch Professor of Government, Harvard University; Director, Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies, Harvard University

A recording of the event is available here


Session 1: "The State of Democracy and Future Research"

Thursday, 19 November 2020, 6 pm

This seminar series explores the past, present, and future of democracy – its institutions and norms – and some chronic dilemmas in the practice of democracy. It convenes important thinkers in Europe and North America to explore what makes democracies work and the challenges they currently face. The series will also serve as a forum for discussion of work in progress and forthcoming books and papers contributing to debates on democracy.

  • Sheri Berman – Professor of Political Science, Barnard College, Columbia University

  • Wolfgang Merkel – Professor Emeritus, Berlin Social Science Center (WZB)

  • Yascha Mounk – Senior Fellow, SNF Agora Institute, Johns Hopkins University

  • Pippa Norris – Paul F. McGuire Lecturer in Comparative Politics & CES Faculty Associate, Harvard University

  • Grzegorz Ekiert – Laurence A. Tisch Professor of Government & CES Director, Harvard University

  • Daniel Ziblatt – Director, "Transformations of Democracy" Berlin Social Science Center (WZB) and Professor at Harvard University